Galway · checked 29 October 2026
Cavity wall insulation in Galway
The grant is national. The housing isn't. What Census 2022 says about Galway's 98,922 households, the 2010 cut-off, the walls to expect and the fuel that pays for an empty cavity.
Figures checked against seai.ie on 29 October 2026. How we check
The SEAI cavity wall grant is the same in Galway as everywhere else: €1,800 for a detached house, €1,300 for a semi-D or end of terrace, €850 mid-terrace and €700 apartment, with higher rates for qualifying welfare recipients and HAP or RAS homes (seai.ie, checked 29 October 2026).
Galway's housing is newer than the national average, with 58% built between 1981 and 2010, and it is heated by oil and solid fuel more than by gas. The county's Atlantic coast puts exposure to driving rain at the centre of every survey.
Galway homes and the 2010 cut-off
SEAI's wall grants are only for homes built and occupied before 31 December 2010. Census 2022 counted 98,922 households in Galway. Of those, 7% were built in 2011 or later and fall outside the grant, and 33% were built before 1981, against 8% and 41% for the State (CSO).
| Period built | Galway | Ireland |
|---|---|---|
| Before 1919 | 5% | 8% |
| 1919 to 1945 | 5% | 6% |
| 1946 to 1960 | 5% | 7% |
| 1961 to 1980 | 17% | 19% |
| 1981 to 2010 | 58% | 49% |
| 2011 or later | 7% | 8% |
| Not stated | 3% | 2% |
CSO Census 2022 Small Area Population Statistics, county file, tables 6.1, 6.2, 6.3 and 6.5 (households). Read 29 October 2026. Percentages are of all households in the table, including those that didn't state an answer.
Galway County has 56% of its homes built between 1981 and 2010, the highest share of the four counties on this site, and 95% of its households live in houses. Galway City has 26% of households in flats or apartments and 30% of homes built before 1981. Across the county only 5% of homes date from before 1919, against 8% nationally (CSO).
A 1981 to 2010 house is inside the grant window and may already have some insulation in the cavity from when it was built. SEAI's standards allow the residual cavity behind rigid boards to be filled where at least 40 mm remains everywhere, but not a top-up over old mineral wool (SEAI technical standards). The borescope survey answers it.
| Local authority | Households | Built before 1981 | Built 2011 or later | Houses | Gas heated | Oil heated |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Galway City | 30,901 | 30% | 6% | 73% | 15% | 48% |
| Galway County | 68,021 | 34% | 8% | 95% | 4% | 57% |
CSO Census 2022 Small Area Population Statistics, county file, tables 6.1, 6.2, 6.3 and 6.5 (households). Read 29 October 2026. Percentages are of all households in the table, including those that didn't state an answer.
What walls to expect
We found no published survey of wall types in Galway, so none is claimed here. What SEAI's standards do say applies with more force on the Atlantic coast: the exposure of the walls to wind-driven rain must be assessed and related to any restriction on the type of fill, using Met Éireann's driving rain data, and the system certificates carry exposure maps that say where a full fill can be used (SEAI technical standards; Met Éireann). Ask the installer which exposure zone your house falls in and what the certificate allows there. A survey report that doesn't mention exposure is incomplete.
The only way to know your own wall is a survey: a small drilled hole and a borescope on each elevation, which SEAI's standards require before any fill (SEAI technical standards). Is my house suitable? has the checks you can do yourself first.
How Galway homes are heated
The grant doesn't depend on the fuel, but the fuel decides what an empty cavity costs you each winter. In Galway, 8% of households heat with natural gas, 54% with oil and 13% with electricity (CSO).
| Main central heating fuel | Galway | Ireland |
|---|---|---|
| Natural gas | 8% | 33% |
| Oil | 54% | 39% |
| Electricity | 13% | 12% |
| Coal, peat or wood | 16% | 9% |
| No central heating | 1% | 1% |
CSO Census 2022 Small Area Population Statistics, county file, tables 6.1, 6.2, 6.3 and 6.5 (households). Read 29 October 2026. Percentages are of all households in the table, including those that didn't state an answer.
Only 8% of Galway households heat with natural gas, and in Galway County it is 4%. Oil heats 54% and coal, peat or wood 16%, rising to 21% in the county. Galway City has 23% electric heating. A solid fuel stove or open fire needs its air supply and flue kept clear when the walls are pumped, and SEAI's standards require the installer to test the flue before and after (SEAI technical standards).
Houses, flats, owners and renters
88% of Galway households live in a house and 11% in a flat or apartment. 66% own their home, 20% rent privately and 5% rent from a local authority (CSO). Local authority renting is low in Galway County, 4%, and 9% in the city. The higher cavity rate still applies to any home in a HAP or RAS arrangement and to homeowners on a qualifying welfare payment.
The grant and the cost in Galway
SEAI pays a fixed amount by home type, not by county. SEAI's median costs are national too: €1,585 for a semi-D and €2,350 for a detached house from January to June 2026, so about €285 and €550 after the grant (SEAI's median costs PDF). SEAI doesn't publish a Galway median, and we don't invent one. Get a written price with VAT stated and compare it with the national figure.
| Home type | Median installed cost | SEAI grant | Typical cost after grant |
|---|---|---|---|
| Detached house | €2,350 | €1,800 | €550 |
| Semi-D or end of terrace | €1,585 | €1,300 | €285 |
| Mid-terrace | €1,250 | €850 | €400 |
| Apartment | €1,036 | €700 | €336 |
Costs: SEAI median costs, January to June 2026, from SEAI's median costs PDF (a sample of 23,412 completed upgrades; the cost each contractor submitted to SEAI at grant payment; VAT status not stated on the PDF), read 29 October 2026. Grants: Source: seai.ie wall insulation page, checked 29 October 2026.
Finding a registered installer in Galway
Two lists, both national and both searchable: SEAI's register of contractors, which the grant requires, and NSAI's register of cavity wall insulation installers, which SEAI's technical standards require for the system being used. Check the company on both before you agree to anything. Or use the grant check on this page: we pass your request to one SEAI-registered contractor who covers Galway.
Where these figures come from
- Housing figures are from the CSO's Census 2022 county file (GC, GY), read 29 October 2026. We add the local authorities together for the county figure.
- Grant amounts are from SEAI's wall insulation page, checked 29 October 2026. They are national.
- Costs are SEAI's national medians for January to June 2026. No county median exists, so none is given.
- Nothing on this page about local housing is estimated. If a local fact has no source, it isn't here.
Questions people ask
Is the cavity wall grant different in Galway?
No. It is a national fixed amount: €1,300 for a semi-D, €1,800 for a detached house.
Can an exposed Galway house be filled?
Sometimes. SEAI's standards require the walls' exposure to wind-driven rain to be assessed first, and the system's certificate says where a full fill is allowed. Ask which exposure zone you are in.
How many Galway homes qualify on age?
Census 2022 shows 7% of Galway homes were built in 2011 or later, outside the grant. 58% were built between 1981 and 2010, inside it.
My house already has some insulation in the cavity. Can it be topped up?
Rigid boards with at least 40 mm clear behind them can be filled. A cavity part-filled with mineral wool is not recommended for a top-up under SEAI's standards. A borescope check decides.
What does it cost in Galway?
SEAI publishes no Galway median. Its national median for a semi-D was €1,585 from January to June 2026, about €285 after the grant.
See your grant, then get a price
Four taps show the SEAI grant for your home. Or call 087 162 1846 between 8am and 8pm and we pass you to one SEAI-registered contractor who covers your area.