Cork · checked 29 October 2026
Cavity wall insulation in Cork
The grant is national. The housing isn't. What Census 2022 says about Cork's 211,362 households, the 2010 cut-off, the walls to expect and the fuel that pays for an empty cavity.
Figures checked against seai.ie on 29 October 2026. How we check
The SEAI cavity wall grant is the same in Cork as everywhere else: €1,800 for a detached house, €1,300 for a semi-D or end of terrace, €850 mid-terrace and €700 apartment, with higher rates for qualifying welfare recipients and HAP or RAS homes (seai.ie, checked 29 October 2026).
Cork is a county of houses, 90% of households, split between a city where gas heats most homes and a county where oil does. Both halves have a large stock built in the grant's window.
Cork homes and the 2010 cut-off
SEAI's wall grants are only for homes built and occupied before 31 December 2010. Census 2022 counted 211,362 households in Cork. Of those, 8% were built in 2011 or later and fall outside the grant, and 43% were built before 1981, against 8% and 41% for the State (CSO).
| Period built | Cork | Ireland |
|---|---|---|
| Before 1919 | 11% | 8% |
| 1919 to 1945 | 6% | 6% |
| 1946 to 1960 | 7% | 7% |
| 1961 to 1980 | 18% | 19% |
| 1981 to 2010 | 47% | 49% |
| 2011 or later | 8% | 8% |
| Not stated | 2% | 2% |
CSO Census 2022 Small Area Population Statistics, county file, tables 6.1, 6.2, 6.3 and 6.5 (households). Read 29 October 2026. Percentages are of all households in the table, including those that didn't state an answer.
Cork City and Cork County are two housing stocks. The city has 49% of its homes built before 1981 and 17% of households in flats or apartments. The county has 39% built before 1981, 95% houses, and the biggest single build period is 1981 to 2010, 50% of its homes. The county also has 13% built before 1919, more than the city's 9% (CSO).
| Local authority | Households | Built before 1981 | Built 2011 or later | Houses | Gas heated | Oil heated |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cork City | 83,391 | 49% | 6% | 83% | 61% | 16% |
| Cork County | 127,971 | 39% | 9% | 95% | 18% | 54% |
CSO Census 2022 Small Area Population Statistics, county file, tables 6.1, 6.2, 6.3 and 6.5 (households). Read 29 October 2026. Percentages are of all households in the table, including those that didn't state an answer.
What walls to expect
Census data records when a home was built, not how its walls were made, and we found no published survey of wall types in Cork, so we don't claim one. Three things are worth knowing. Homes built before 1919, 11% of Cork's stock, are often solid stone or brick, which the cavity grant doesn't cover. Timber frame homes, whatever their age, cannot be cavity insulated under SEAI's standards. And a wall on an exposed coastal elevation needs its exposure to wind-driven rain assessed before a fill is chosen, which SEAI's standards require with Met Éireann's driving rain map as the reference (SEAI technical standards; Met Éireann).
The only way to know your own wall is a survey: a small drilled hole and a borescope on each elevation, which SEAI's standards require before any fill (SEAI technical standards). Is my house suitable? has the checks you can do yourself first.
How Cork homes are heated
The grant doesn't depend on the fuel, but the fuel decides what an empty cavity costs you each winter. In Cork, 35% of households heat with natural gas, 39% with oil and 12% with electricity (CSO).
| Main central heating fuel | Cork | Ireland |
|---|---|---|
| Natural gas | 35% | 33% |
| Oil | 39% | 39% |
| Electricity | 12% | 12% |
| Coal, peat or wood | 6% | 9% |
| No central heating | 2% | 1% |
CSO Census 2022 Small Area Population Statistics, county file, tables 6.1, 6.2, 6.3 and 6.5 (households). Read 29 October 2026. Percentages are of all households in the table, including those that didn't state an answer.
The split is stark: 61% of Cork City households heat with gas and 16% with oil, while in Cork County it is 18% gas and 54% oil, with 9% on coal, peat or wood. The grant is identical for all of them. An oil or solid fuel boiler needs its air supply and flue checked and kept clear when the walls are pumped, which SEAI's standards require of the installer (SEAI technical standards).
Houses, flats, owners and renters
90% of Cork households live in a house and 10% in a flat or apartment. 66% own their home, 18% rent privately and 9% rent from a local authority (CSO). Cork County's owner-occupation, 73%, is among the highest on this site. Local authority renting is 12% in the city and 6% in the county; a HAP or RAS home gets the higher cavity rate.
The grant and the cost in Cork
SEAI pays a fixed amount by home type, not by county. SEAI's median costs are national too: €1,585 for a semi-D and €2,350 for a detached house from January to June 2026, so about €285 and €550 after the grant (SEAI's median costs PDF). SEAI doesn't publish a Cork median, and we don't invent one. Get a written price with VAT stated and compare it with the national figure.
| Home type | Median installed cost | SEAI grant | Typical cost after grant |
|---|---|---|---|
| Detached house | €2,350 | €1,800 | €550 |
| Semi-D or end of terrace | €1,585 | €1,300 | €285 |
| Mid-terrace | €1,250 | €850 | €400 |
| Apartment | €1,036 | €700 | €336 |
Costs: SEAI median costs, January to June 2026, from SEAI's median costs PDF (a sample of 23,412 completed upgrades; the cost each contractor submitted to SEAI at grant payment; VAT status not stated on the PDF), read 29 October 2026. Grants: Source: seai.ie wall insulation page, checked 29 October 2026.
Finding a registered installer in Cork
Two lists, both national and both searchable: SEAI's register of contractors, which the grant requires, and NSAI's register of cavity wall insulation installers, which SEAI's technical standards require for the system being used. Check the company on both before you agree to anything. Or use the grant check on this page: we pass your request to one SEAI-registered contractor who covers Cork.
Where these figures come from
- Housing figures are from the CSO's Census 2022 county file (CC, CK), read 29 October 2026. We add the local authorities together for the county figure.
- Grant amounts are from SEAI's wall insulation page, checked 29 October 2026. They are national.
- Costs are SEAI's national medians for January to June 2026. No county median exists, so none is given.
- Nothing on this page about local housing is estimated. If a local fact has no source, it isn't here.
Questions people ask
Is the cavity wall grant different in Cork?
No. SEAI pays the same fixed amounts in every county: €1,300 for a semi-D, €1,800 detached.
How many Cork homes qualify on age?
Census 2022 shows 8% of Cork homes were built in 2011 or later and fall outside the grant. 43% were built before 1981.
Does an oil-heated house get the same grant?
Yes. The grant depends on the home type, not the fuel. The installer must keep the boiler's air supply and flue clear and test the flue after pumping.
My Cork house is near the coast. Can it be filled?
Often, but SEAI's standards require the walls' exposure to wind-driven rain to be assessed first, and the fill chosen to suit. The survey report should say what was assessed.
What does it cost in Cork?
SEAI publishes no Cork median. Its national median for a semi-D was €1,585 from January to June 2026, about €285 after the grant.
See your grant, then get a price
Four taps show the SEAI grant for your home. Or call 087 162 1846 between 8am and 8pm and we pass you to one SEAI-registered contractor who covers your area.